Ride open railcars into rock tunnels where miners demonstrate their trade underground. Learn about the $80 million Mark Creek watershed restoration project that has returned native cutthroat trout to once-polluted waters.
The great Sullivan Mine, of significant importance for over 100 years, from discovery to closing, at the time, was one of the largest underground mines in Canada, with over 300 miles of underground tunnels and 40 miles of underground roadways.
The Sullivan Mine & Railway Historical Society is dedicated to the preservation of the mine's history, with exhibits spread over 161 acres within the Mark Creek Valley, in Kimberley. Such exhibits include a small replica of an historical Kimberley theatre, where mining films and free ore samples are offered daily during July and August, a 1901 original mining school house, a typical 1920 miner's residence and a 250 foot long mine powerhouse fully equipped with turn of the 19th century air compressors.
Many examples of mining related machinery are spread out along the valley floor. Expansion of exhibits and displays continue yearly, with a "one of a kind underground experience."
Local artists Tanya and John Siega have created a multi-media musical production about the Sullivan Mine, which can be viewed by clicking on the video at left. To learn more about Siega Productions, go to www.siega.net
Take a ride on Kimberley's Underground Mining Railway through switchbacks, and up steep slopes and sharp curves, as it winds through the narrow valley of Mark Creek. Enjoy the spectacular views and hear the fascinating history of the 'Great Sullivan Mine' and the community of Kimberley.
The railway links the downtown of Kimberley with the site of the old Sullivan Mine surface facilities and recent mine reclamation activities, and continues its route shuttling riders to the base of the Kimberley Alpine Resort.
The history of the Sullivan Mine and the importance of mining in general, are preserved in the Sullivan Mine Interpretive Centre. Visitors will have a real underground experience. The train will travel through a 750 metre (2,475 ft) tunnel and visitors will get a feel for what it was like underground at the Sullivan Mine. Rooms off the main tunnel will display mining equipment, including a working jackleg.
Open mid-May to mid-September
Mid-May through June, weekends only; Throughout September, weekends only; July and August, open daily. Schedule: from downtown station 11am to 5pm; from Alpine Resort Station noon to 6pm.
Located in downtown Kimberley, moments from the Platzl at 115 Gerry Sorenson Way.
Gerry Sorenson is the major route-way to the Kimberley Alpine Resort. Follow it and watch for signage.
During peak traffic periods, trains will depart every 30 minutes.